dweomeroflight: (Default)
[personal profile] dweomeroflight
Hey guys, so I'm back from Fiji and what a trip it twas! The cyclone had hit the Yasawas two months before we arrived so alot of the islanders were still sleeping outdoors or in ramshackled bure's because the military government has claimed that it "cannot afford to help the islanders because they don't have enough money." The chief's brother rolled his eyes angrily when he explained this to us. Earning a dollar a day is considered good and there is 38% unemployment across Fiji. The trip really made me realise just how good us Westerners have got things despite our complaining.

In other news, I went and bought Ashes to Ashes season two for my family yesterday. The woman in the ABC shop wasn't the usual nice lady and she tried to claim, without batting an eyelid, that "ahhh it's going cheap at $56" Me (in my head) WTF DO YOU TAKE ME FOR?

I really shouldn't enjoy this series as much as I do, after all it has lost most of the spark of Life On Mars, and yet somehow when I watch it, I forget that. Truly, its better than most of the crap on TV and LOm is a somewhat hard act to follow. Though how they will wrap up season three so that it dosen't compromise LOM's ending or copy it or even beat it dramatically I don't know. That was the best ending I have ever seen in a TV show ever! But back to Gene and Alex, I started off hating Alex Drake and poor Keeley Hawes, whose only crime was not being John Simm, but the damned bitch sucked me in lol and I have now decided that I like her enough to watch season one of Spooks. Besides, if I'm honest with myself I know she's a good actress, and alot of the problems with season one were more to do with the script than with her acting... and on top of all of that, just like Sam and Annie in LOM I really want to see Gene and Alex admit they love each other.

Part One of the End of Time airs here in fucking February!!!!!! The ABC are bastards.

I'm onto the last 100 pages of The Silver Mage by Katharine Kerr, the last in her Deverry Saga and sad to say I am so disappointed its not funny. The Horsekin should have been ditched after The Fire Dragon or fleshed out properly and the dark dweomer explored in more detail and Salamandar given a proper past life. It also dosen't help that I've never liked Dallandra- who in my opinion is a bit of a cold hearted bitch, and she has really become a main character in the last four books. On top of this Sidro has been sidelined, I sense an unsatisfying ending for Laz Moj and Salamandar and about the only character I still have hope for is Rhodry. Why Kit? Why did you do this to me?

Oh well, at least she hasn't gone the Harry Potter route of killing off characters pointlessly and presumably writing the book under the influence of crack. i mean Dumbledore gay? really? and this was necessary to the story how and characterised how exactly? HP has a freaking immortality stone so that when Voldie kills him he is alive in heavan at freaking Kings Cross Station? I mean really J K? Really? And let's not even mention the shita-logue which really was the last straw for me.

My angry ranting is over. But unless Kit has some all inspiring ending, I'll be finishing all future re reads at The Fire Dragon (which in my opinion with some small extra pages added, could have sufficiently been the series end)

No offence intended by my scathing remarks to my fellow LJ friends, but a girl has got to rant somewhere ;)

ps: Many thanks to Xafirah for the lovely A2A icons!!! I snagged a couple (obviously) and their beautiful!

Date: 2010-01-29 12:29 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] demented2468.livejournal.com
That sucks you have to wait so long for the End of TImes!!

THe end of The Deatly Hallows was really umm yeah just what. Just too easyl

Date: 2010-01-29 01:05 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dweomeroflight.livejournal.com
Feb 14th part one airs here! Who do the ABc execs think they are? :( :(

haha I really hated that last book. Everything felt

a) rushed
b) pointless (characters dying)
c) far far too easy
d) contradictory (eg Molly killing Bellatrix. How did this happen exactly? A housewife beats the most powerful witch with an unforgiveable curse THAT IS ILLEGAL TO USE IF YOU ARE A GOOD GUY.) Oh wait... all of the good guys ditch that rule and start using them, despite the fact that the previous books went on about how hard it was to make such a curse work coz you had to be really hateful and how bad they were to use.

Date: 2010-01-29 03:41 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] demented2468.livejournal.com
They are just being mean.

I hated how easily all the "evil" went down. Come on Rowling life doesn't work that way. It should of been so much harder or shock some of the evil should of lived on

Date: 2010-01-29 05:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dweomeroflight.livejournal.com
yeah like how all of Slytherin except for Snape were suddenly bad? wtf?

Date: 2010-01-29 12:44 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] demented2468.livejournal.com
Exactly. I admit that that house is home of the evil, but saying everyone is that way just makes it silly. Crafty, cunning, and smart does not always breed what I consider evil. It can make some evil but it does not mean everyone that way is going to become a mass murder or anything. I wouldn't want all the Slytherin to magical become all nice either but they don't all have to be horrible

Date: 2010-01-29 04:13 am (UTC)
ext_406513: (Default)
From: [identity profile] amythest-dragon.livejournal.com
Glad to have you back! I am also glad I wasn't the only one who felt a bit disappointed in the Silver Mage. I have a whole lot to say on that subject but will let you finish the book before I say anything. :D

Date: 2010-01-29 05:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dweomeroflight.livejournal.com
Thank goodness you agree with me. I was terrified that you'd unfriend me or something coz I didn't like the last book. I have finished it now and man, I'm wondering if perhaps even Harry Potter;s shitty ending was better than The Silver Mage and tell me all you like on the subject coz I am too. In fact I'll review it now in a post and we can see if our thoughts match up.

I am actually really upset right now. Goodbye to the Deverry Saga being my fave series, bring on the last Obernewtyn book. Ok, I was so freaking devestated I had to go read some of Philip Pullman's brilliant thoughts on evil in his Tiger in the Well Sally Lockhart novel to make myself feel better.

Date: 2010-01-29 05:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] xafirah.livejournal.com
Welcome back :)
I loved the last episode of A2A season 2! Great ending!
I really hope season 3 will be as good as the previous ones and I REALLY hope Alex & Gene become something more than "work partners" ;)

I'm glad you like my A2A icons :) I want to make some more...

Date: 2010-01-30 09:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dweomeroflight.livejournal.com
Haha I cried tears of frustration at the end of that episode... just because I knew I'd have to wait to find out what happened.

I'm far too obsessed with A2A/LOM

Profile

dweomeroflight: (Default)
dweomeroflight

April 2016

S M T W T F S
     12
3456789
10111213 141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 27th, 2026 02:15 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios